387 West End Avenue

387 West End Avenue 

Date: 1885-86

NB Number: NB 869-1885

Block: 1186

Lot: 78

Type:  Rowhouse

Architect:  White, Frederick B.

Developer/Owner/Builder: Henry H. Hewett

NYC Landmarks Designation:  Historic District

Landmark Designation Report: West End – Collegiate Historic District

National Register Designation: N/A

Primary Style:  Flemish Renaissance

Primary Facade:   Brick, pressed brick, pressed red brick, Red Brick, and Terra Cotta

Stories: 3 with basement

Elements: No. 387 is a mirror image of No. 385 West End Avenue.

385 – Three-story rowhouse with basement and steep gable roof; pressed red brick with molded brick, unglazed terracotta detail, and tinted mortar; original windows had heavy paired wood one-over-one sash with transoms on the first floor (see No. 383); splayed brick lintels over square and round arch openings; recessed stone stoop below round brick Syrian arch shared with No. 383; single-leaf panelled door with square-glazed opening, rectangular and circular panels; third-story gable articulated by stylized engaged colonnettes which rise from a string course at the second floor level and terminate in the finials of the gable end; chimney (shared with No. 387) articulated with decorative brick and supported on elaborate scrolled bracket; original roof surface was tile (see 307 West 78th Street); decorative wrought-iron railings and basement window grille.

Historic District: West End - Collegiate HD

Alterations: Inappropriate cleaning and repointing of brick with white mortar and wide joints; windows replaced with brown aluminum one-over-one windows and glass blocks at first floor window at entry; roof surface replaced with asphalt shingles; corbelled cornice removed at roofline above entry; one gable finial removed.

History: Originally built as a row of eight houses (Nos. 381-389 West End Avenue and Nos. 303-307 West 78th Street). These buildings were designed in a picturesque mode to be viewed as a single composition. No. 387 was sold to Lilian DeCato, on May 15, 1888.

References: New York City, Department of Buildings, Manhattan, Plans, Permits and Dockets.

Browse Building Database

Share This